PERSONAL.

CAHSMUN 2017.

Coming back from my first Model United Nations conference yesterday, I can say that I’ve learned a lot about the effort and hard work that comes with being a leader.

It was a tiring, hectic, yet fulfilling and unforgettable weekend to say the least.  I left Friday afternoon with 7 other students from my school and one of my teachers for this conference.

I’ve never done or been to anything like this before, so honestly, I had no idea what to expect.  With little preparation besides the position papers I had to write, let’s say that I was unprepared.   I could try to give a little bit of background information on what this conference is really about,  but honestly, CAHSMUN is one of those things that you have to experience to really understand… 

But basically, CAHSMUN is a role-play of the United Nations.  You are given a committee and a country and two topics to research about beforehand.  Then, during the actual conference, you have the opportunity to present your research in front of other high school students that represent different countries and have different stances on the topics that were given.

CAHSMUN’s motto says, “Learn today. Lead tomorrow.”  I was truly impressed by all the high school students who run this three day event, their intellect, effort, and dedication is something that I can’t stress enough.  It was hard for me to believe that they were once first-timers like me, in a beginner committee, unsure of what to expect during a formal debate.

During the closing ceremony, the keynote speaker brought up some points that personally spoke to me.  She quoted a man named Ralph Emerson who once said, “To know even one life breathed easier because you have lived.  This is to have succeeded.”

This conference brought me back to remembering that an accomplishment shouldn’t be something made out of a block of wood or paper.  It’s not about my ability to debate or speak.  It’s about having a heart.  It’s the valuable lessons you learn in life about compassion, collaboration, and communication.

I was blessed to have experienced this amazing weekend with some of my friends. (Also, making a really cool new friend 🙂 )  I thoroughly enjoyed making memories of a lifetime with you all — whether it was ordering pizza at 2 am, being super indecisive with all the decisions we make, running out of Denny’s, having photo shoots right outside sketchy buildings, going to parties until 11, and staying up until 4 in the morning… I wouldn’t have wanted my first CAHSMUN experience to be with anybody else.  I’d gladly replay this weekend over and over again in my head as long as I have you all by my side.

All in all, I am so glad I got to take part in this conference.  See you in a year, CAHSMUN.

xox,

Ainah

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 11.35.12 PMScreen Shot 2017-04-03 at 11.35.26 PMScreen Shot 2017-04-03 at 11.35.37 PM

Standard

Leave a Reply

