WRITINGS.

SHAKESPEARE’S ADVICE.

it breaks my heart to realize that
you and me,
we’ve only talked
once or twice

they say i’m young and naive,
and that you shouldn’t mean anything to me

but why do shivers go down my spine
whenever you are my subject of rhyme

in my head, i relay a thousand instances
that now i just recall as missed chances

i’m stuck between holding on and letting go
of the you i so desperately wanted to get to know

i don’t want to give up on the possibility of you and me
but how long will i have to wait for you to notice me?

i’m craving the euphoria that comes with finding someone special in my youth
but as shakespeare once said, “the course of true love never did run smooth.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

