Uncategorized

15 THINGS I’M THANKFUL FOR.

Since Thanksgiving is just right around the corner, and I just wanted to share 15 things that God has blessed me with that help me love life a little more everyday.

My family 

I wouldn’t be here (literally) without my family’s unending love and utmost support.  Mom and Dad, thank you for being living examples of what it looks like to be servants of God in all you do, and putting me and my siblings first each and everyday of our lives.  Words don’t suffice.  I’m truly, truly, truly thankful for all the sacrifices and endless hours of work you do to make sure I have more than I need. ❤  Andrei and Aliyah, you both are the joys of my life despite our little moments.  I know I don’t say this often, but I’m so honoured to be your sister.  I hope I can influence you both positively and in a way that brings all glory, honour, and praise to our Lord.  Keep seeking after Jesus, I’m so proud of you two.

My friends

Dear friends, I love you all to the moon and back.  Thank you for the laughs, memories, and for putting up with me.  I hold so much love for you in my heart.  I specifically want to thank Raluca, Yakira, Nathan, and Victoria.  I don’t know life without you guys.  You are my rock.  Thank you for all your encouragement and support through good times and bad, especially through the moments I couldn’t navigate through on my own.  I heard Jesus tell me that he loves me so vividly when he placed you guys by my side. ❤

Mission Trip to Mexico

 I have no words to describe how much this experience means to me.  I truly witnessed the love of God in a way I never had before.  I’m so thankful for all the hours I spent travelling with my team and all the little jokes and secrets we shared, as well as the incredible bonds I made with them throughout the week.  I will never forget the kindness and hospitality displayed by the OLOC staff, the smiles and hugs I received from the kids I met, and building a home for such an amazing family.

Being elected on to Student Council 

Growing up shy and extremely afraid of people, never would have I thought that one day I’d be on the student council.  We’ve had numerous meetings and a couple events over the course of this month, and I can’t describe what a blessing it has been to serve my high school body among amazing people.  There is never a dull moment when I’m with my fellow SC members and I’m so excited for the work that God will do through us this year.

First summer job

Yup.  I was determined to get a job this summer and it was even one of the items on my summer bucket list.  I was aiming to get into retail but God unexpectedly brought me to a job where I’d be able to improve my people skills by befriending an international student for two weeks.  This was an amazing experience and my summer would have not been the same without it. 🙂

A new home

I moved into my new home a little over 4 months ago now.  It has only been through the prayer and support of my friends, my prayer hub group, and my parents’ friends.  In His timing, God gave us this new home right when we needed it.

Being able to finish last school year well

Okay, okay.  Now I’m really not trying to be cocky or anything, but I was definitely happy with how I ended my grade 9 year – not just from an academic standpoint, but socially and spiritually as well.  I’m only hoping for the same kind of satisfaction this school year.

Ms. Eu

This woman is nothing short of my role model, mentor, and inspiration.  She taught me the power and importance of prayer in a very genuine way.  I look forward coming into Prayer Hub meetings every Wednesday afternoon just to experience God’s presence with her and all my friends who come to the meetings.  Prayer Hub is one of the places where I can let myself be vulnerable, and share my concerns and praises with those around me.  It’s always been a safe place for my weary soul to crash; and it restores the refreshing life the Holy Spirit provides when I’m weak and troubled in me.

Ashley, Weiling, & Hayley 

These three girls have been like older sisters to me.  There were times in this year where I felt confused and lost, and needed direction.  You three have always given me the advice I needed to pick myself up and steer myself back onto the right path.

Mr. Brandsma

I may have graduated from grade 7 almost three years ago, but that doesn’t mean I’ve stopped learning things from my seventh grade teacher.  Thank you for always leaving your classroom door open for me just to pop in and ask you how things are doing.  Thanks for all the wisdom and advice you’ve given me even as I venture through the highs and lows of high school.  Thank you for also buying me a book each year to help me learn what I believe and why.  I’m so touched that you still think of me after all this time.

Mr. Hinz

You were so much more than an amazing Bible teacher.  Not only did my faith strengthen because of the lessons you’d teach, but I clearly remember a certain point in time in which I experienced a circumstance where I needed guidance from somebody like you.  I could never thank you enough for the times you’d let me come to your desk after school and be in a state of complete confusion and you’d listen intently, helping me figure out things that were completely out of my control.  You helped me trust God during this interesting time in my life, and I’ve emerged out of that chapter, a happier and wiser person all because of you. 🙂

Christian Perspectives and HCE 9 

Bible and Health and Career were no doubt my favourite courses.  I’m so glad that I have the privilege of going to a school in which I can say the name of my God freely without the fear of humiliation and rejection.  There’s nothing more satisfying to me than knowing more about God, His Word, and the plans He has for me.

New found passions

This year, I got really interested with typography and poetry.  I’ve always been the creative type, but I never really thought that these 2 forms of art would be something I’d enjoy doing in my life.

Janielle

You’re the closest thing I’ve had to a younger sister around my age.  We’ve only been close for the past year and a half but I can’t tell you what it means to have you in my life.  I’m so glad that I get to experience high school with you this year and although we may only be one month into the school year, I actually feel so much closer to you than before.  We’ve experienced earthquakes, blackouts (literally), and other dark times together, but we’ve also experienced moments in light, sunshine, and happiness.  Thanks for putting up with all my crazy stories and texts and for letting me tease you from time to time 😛 I love you and am keeping you in the core of my heart. ❤

My blog and all my readers ❤ 

After I decided to quit my blog on WordPress when I was 10, I never thought I’d come back and make a new blog and learn to express myself in ways I didn’t think I needed to display.  I’ve learned so much more about myself through this blogging journey and can’t thank all of you who’ve been part of it to help me get to this point.   I hope its only forward from here.  Happy Thanksgiving, y’all! ❤  Beyond thankful for you.

Image result for happy thanksgiving

 

 

Standard

One thought on “15 THINGS I’M THANKFUL FOR.

  1. eliseoistheunderdog says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

    Psalm 95:2-3 “Let us come before him with thanksgiving and extol him with music and song. For the LORD is the great God, the great King above all gods.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

