Uncategorized

3 ANONYMOUS LETTERS.

I used to have an ask.fm account, and a question that would usually pop up on my feed in which I could read my friends’ questions and answers, was something along the lines of “Write three anonymous notes.”  Well, that’s not really a question, but I guess you can get the gist of what whoever was asking was demanding.

Right now, I thought of doing something kind of interesting and unique on my blog.  So as you can tell from the title, I’m going to be writing letters to three anonymous people.   Have fun trying to figure out which letter’s for who. 🙂


Letter #1

Dear ___,

Maybe it’s been about a year since I’ve last seen you.  I remember how seeing you that day was so out of the blue.  You unexpectedly approached me with a smile and I returned your kind, welcoming gesture.  You gave me a hug, and then you went on your way.  If only you knew how happy I was to see you.  It probably had been about half a year since I’ve last seen you before then.  But even at that time, we already knew that we wouldn’t be seeing each other around much often anymore.   We were already growing apart and our friendship was starting to fade into a memory.  It was tough on both of us.  I didn’t think that a lack of communication and a stream of disagreements and fights would sever the connection we once had.  It’s so weird to scroll down my Instagram feed, see one of your photos, and subconsciously remember you as my former best friend.  But in all honesty, I’m glad to see that you’re doing well.  I still wish nothing but the best for you.  After all, the memories that I’ve made with you are still some of the best I ever had.  I guess one thing I’ll always remember learning from our friendship is that sometimes, growing up means growing apart.  I know I wouldn’t be the person I am today without the lessons I’ve learned from everything we’ve gone through.  If I could tell you anything right now, I’d say that I don’t hold on to the bitterness that divided us.  When you gave me that hug the last time our paths crossed, all I was holding on to was the friend I once had.  Thank you for your part in my life and I hope I had a role in yours too.  I miss you.

~ Ainah


Letter #2

Dear ___,

I don’t remember the last time I’ve contacted you.  I know it probably hasn’t been too long, but for some reason, it feels like it’s been a very long while.  I think that’s because it was only a few months ago when I really did pour out all my heart and soul into caring for you.  Back then, you also did the same…  I’m sorry that the way you were starting to treat me was a little bit too much for me.  I was young, naive, and I didn’t realize that sometimes even love needs limits until you stepped into my life.  I never would have thought you would unfold all your deep dark secrets before me.  You made me feel important, special, and needed.  You were always there when I needed somebody just to listen.  I’m sorry that I never had all the answers to your questions and solutions to your problems.  I did not experience life the way you have.  I’m sorry that I had to cut ends with you for a short period of time. With the help of some trusted advisers and friends, I know where I should stand in your life.  I’m going to be seeing you again soon.  I hope you’ve been doing well this past period of time.  I hope you know that I am very thankful that you are my friend.

~Ainah


Letter #3

Dear ___,

Hello. It’s me again.  This is probably my fourth or fifth time writing to you and it’s funny how you never knew about my correspondence with my idea of you.  Only one other person in the world besides me knows about all these letters that have never reached you and never will.   I was reading my last little note to you and I smiled, and thought to myself, “Wow, things have changed.” Things have definitely changed for not just the good, or for the better, but for the best.  You’re still in my life today and to me, that really matters.  Each letter I’ve written to you displayed a little bit of my soul searching for more of yours.  It’s interesting how sometimes things we want come when we realize that we can still live life if we gave them up.  I’ve learned to separate fantasy from real life.  I’ve moved past that point in time where I felt like I needed to predict or control where we were going.  I’ve realized that for a very, very long while I seemed to sabotage reality for the sake of fiction.  I’ve learned to be more honest with myself and you.  I feel like I understand you more now.  So, thank you for teaching me that I can’t always get what I want in life.  I may never really know why, but I have to trust that I’ll end up in a good place later on.  I’m there right now.  I don’t mean that everything in my life right now is clear, but I’m happy.  I think you know that.  I think you know that you’re…just a friend to me now, and to my surprise, you mean so much more to me than you did before.

~Ainah

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

