MUSICAL MUSINGS., PERSONAL.

OH FOR GRACE.

12:11 am.

I sit at my desk nearly blinded by the light from my laptop.  Exactly one week until my new school year begins.  Just like I’ve elaborated in my last entry, I’m ready to welcome a new year with new challenges, new experiences, new trials, new triumphs,  huge blessings and huge joy.  What a year this will be.

This past couple of nights, I’ve been trying to improve my sleep schedule so it wouldn’t be a huge adjustment for me to be waking up at 6:30 in the morning, five days a week, again.   I must admit that I’ve been successful up until tonight.

A song that I’ve heard on a blog of this wonderful woman I was able to meet on the mission field would not stop playing in my head.  The sweet, sweet, melody that accompanied beautiful lyrics which state,  “Jesus, Jesus, how I trust you,” was stuck on replay.

For some reason, feelings of anxiety and fear crept into my mind as I realized that this new school year was approaching far faster than I expected.  I’ve usually been an optimist who has tried my best to console my nervous friends and classmates around this time of the year, but today… my mind was wrapped around the possibilities of what could go wrong this school year, whether it meant my academics, my roles on student council, my walk with God, or my social life.

It’s not easy being in high school in this time and age.  I do strongly believe that it is a time of transition between interdependence and independence.  The grip that teachers and parents have had on you your whole life starts to soften as they let you go experience both the beautiful and difficult realities of adulthood.

I don’t think that it’s some sheer coincidence that I felt God prompting me to go back and look at that blog post in which I discovered a wonderful old hymn called, “‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus.”  It’s timeless lyrics was what I needed to hear today.

I want to end off by quoting what this woman I met in Mexico wrote in her blog as she made a cover of this hymn,

 

“This song is a beautiful old hymn that has come to life again to me these days. In the middle of all of this craziness, these words go deep. It’s so sweet to trust in Jesus.

All of these times that I’ve looked into my future and not known how it is going to happen, I just have to look back at all the times that I’ve proved him over and over. 

Not that it’s that easy…I know I’ll have my days of feeling anxious. But as A.W. Tozer wrote, “I am painfully conscious of my need for further grace.” It’s not that easy, but it is that simple. Just to take him at his word. And he gives grace to do that. 

Oh for grace to trust him more.”  – Heather Molina

 

If you’d like to listen to Heather’s cover of this hymn, I’ll leave the link down below:

 

’Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just to take Him at His Word;
Just to rest upon His promise,
And to know, “Thus saith the Lord!

Refrain:
Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!
How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er;
Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!
Oh, for grace to trust Him more!

Oh, how sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just to trust His cleansing blood;
And in simple faith to plunge me
’Neath the healing, cleansing flood!

Yes, ’tis sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just from sin and self to cease;
Just from Jesus simply taking
Life and rest, and joy and peace.

I’m so glad I learned to trust Thee,
Precious Jesus, Savior, Friend;
And I know that Thou art with me,
Wilt be with me to the end.

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “OH FOR GRACE.

    • Good question! Well, for the meantime I decided that I should stay on this blog instead. Yeah, I know I said that I really wanted to be able to update and upgrade the overall look of my blog, and that WordPress wouldn’t allow me to do so, but I realized that Wix didn’t allow me to do one thing that has motivated me to keep writing new entries – to connect and inspire my readers. Without comments, I realize that I would never be able to receive the same kind of feedback I receive from you and many other friends unlike here. I’ve realized that your thoughts and opinions really matter to me and what has kept my love for blogging alive for the past three months. So, yeah, for right now, I’m back here. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

