PERSONAL.

CHILDHOOD CREW.

10 days until two of my oldest friends take a plane halfway across the country for their post-secondary education has made me realize how blessed I am to have known such wonderful people almost all my life.

Although I just visited two of my childhood companions last night and was able to drop of some gifts for them, I know that the part they play in my life is something that I cherish, therefore, wanted to share. 🙂

I’ve known these friends of mine before I even truly understood what friendship is.  I am so grateful for the 13 years of laughter and memories that we’ve shared together over the years.  I remember being only two years old when Bea, Camille, and Jon entered my life.  Though I have barely any recollection of how we spent our days as kids, I have vague memories of feeling content, happy, and comfortable just being around them.

Though we all lived in the same city at one point and made the most out of our time together while we were all in close proximity,  God eventually let our families take different paths.  From all of us living in beautiful BC, there were moves to Alberta, Philippines, and back to BC.  Sustaining long distance friendships wasn’t always easy, but I know we can all say that it was worth it.  From poor internet connection Skype calls, letters, long e-mails, texts, expensive airline tickets, lengthy 12 hour road trips, and long waits between visits, all our efforts paid off for us to be able to pick up from where we left off no matter how near or far we were from each other.

I’m beyond blessed to have been able to see Bea and Camille more frequently these past two years since they’ve moved back to BC and having them be a part of my teenage years.  It’s crazy realizing that now they’re both in university, that Jon starting Grade 12 this September, and as well as starting Grade 10 myself this year.  As Jon told me a couple days ago, “We’ve grown up so fast.”  Hah, so true indeed.

I guess one reason why their friendship means so much to me is because I’ve lost a lot of friends in the past, and I’ve learned lots of things.  One of these things is also one of my favourite quotes when it comes to friendship, it states, “Friends are friends forever, if the Lord’s the Lord of them.”  I’ve realized that God being the centre of our friendship is one of the key reasons why the distances across mountains and oceans have never severed the connection we have.

It’s been about a year since all four of us have last been together, and I remember that day being one of the happiest days in my life.  Board games, ice cream, lots of singing, scaring people in the playgrounds due to our siblings and friends have never been more enjoyable with them.  Though I’m upset that we were not able to reunite again this year, I have confidence that each day we spend apart brings us closer to the day we’ll be together again.

Knowing that all three of them will be far away from me again isn’t something that frightens or worries me.  Of course, I’ll miss their company but we don’t have to be together to be best friends.  🙂  Near or far, the three of you will always be in my heart. ❤

Bea and Camille, just like I said in my letter, I’m so excited for this stage in your lives. 🙂 I don’t doubt that you two will accomplish lots, because you do your best to honour the Lord in all you do.  I can’t wait for all the Skype calls, texts, and crazy stories from school I’ll share with you.  Jon, hmm, still haven’t sent you the link to this blog so I don’t even think you’ll read this, but I wouldn’t be able to manage certain situations…(or should I say…people, haha 🙂 ) without you.  I’m so glad that we can tell each other everything considering the fact that we’ve only been close friends for about a year.

Love you all with my whole heart. Can’t wait until we’ll all be together again next June. 🙂 

   Because 20 years is a really, really long time. | 31 Things That Happen When You've Been BFFs For 20 Years

loveknowsnodistancee:  ∞Relationship Blog!∞:

Hey There Delilah :) Hey there Delilah what's it like up in rack city I see 10s and 10s of 20s laying down upon your titties close your eyes...:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Standard

4 thoughts on “CHILDHOOD CREW.

  1. eliseoistheunderdog says:

    I love this! Not even distance can separate friendships. I know in my life, I’ve had to say bye to friends who needed to leave to another place in the world, but I know that no matter far they are, God is the one that holds us all together.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

