PERSONAL.

SUMMER JOB.

It’s been a while since I’ve documented what’s been going on in my life.  To say the least, I can say that so much has happened in the past couple weeks.  It will take some time for me to catch up on everything in writing form. 🙂 But, hi, I’m back, I missed all of you. ❤

Last Monday was my first day at my first job with pay.  *slaps self on the back.*   Finding a job was probably one of the most important things I wanted to accomplish on my bucket list this summer, and I’m so glad I had the opportunity to do so.  My job required me to be-friend some international students for a week, help them improve their English, and explore the Lower Mainland.  Basically, I was paid to have fun. 🙂

I can honestly say that this was one of the best weeks of my summer so far.  I enjoyed learning about a different culture, a different language, and making so many countless memories along the way.  My shift was from 8:30am – 5pm from Monday to this Friday.  Though I was exhausted after each passing day, I loved coming home each day knowing that I spent it well.  I’ve never made so many friends so easily.  Some cool places we were able to go to were Science World, SFU, Downtown Vancouver, UBC, and the CBC building.

In the laughs and memories that I’ve made, one lesson that I’ve learned from this week is that compassion speaks so loud that it can be heard over a language barrier.  My two buddies, Amy and Daisy, were two kind and gentle girls that I had the privilege of meeting.  It’s amazing how love is a language that everyone understands.  Throughout the week, we were able to learn some basic information about each other, tour whatever sites the group was heading to together, and even buy each other gifts on our last day together.

I couldn’t have asked for a better summer job experience. I’m so glad I received more than just a pay – but new friends and memories to last a lifetime. 🙂

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

