PERSONAL.

CHAPTER FIFTEEN.

JULY 14, 2016

8:00 am – I wake up and I can’t believe it’s July 14 once again.  Another year added to my life.  I feel good.  The sound of my phone buzzing due to notifications catches my attention.  I’m not surprised to see that some of my friends have started greeting me birthday wishes on my Facebook feed.  There’s no better way to start my morning with some birthday love. ❤

9:00-12:00 noon – I read more birthday posts, finish Wednesday Currently | 03, fold some laundry, wash the dishes, and babysit my sister while my brother is at a basketball camp and my mom is at work.  It doesn’t take a whole load of chores to remind me that I’m no longer a kid, and that I’m approaching adulthood a lot faster than I ever expected.

12:00 noon – 2:15 pm – I prepare lunch for my sister and  I as my mom and brother arrive home.  I find some time to relax and read more texts and posts from my friends.

2:45 pm 3:15 pm – I watch my sister at the pool while she has her swimming lessons.  Knowing that she’s learning how to swim definitely did not make me feel any younger, besides the fact knowing that I’m 10 years older than her. 🙂

3:30 pm – I wait for two of my friends to arrive at the mall to start what I know would be the highlight of my special day… spending time with them 🙂

4:00 pm – Finally.  Raluca and I find a table to eat at and Nathan joins us in a matter of a couple of minutes.  It was definitely a mall experience like I never had before… It took Raluca a good 35 minutes to finish a burger while we just sat and talked, aaand, the three of us got yelled at by a lady who said we were staring at her.  No big deal, right?? 🙂

4:35 pm – 5:00 pm – We decide not to be lazy and walk around the mall… and when I mean walk around the mall, like I mean that pretty much sums up everything we did besides eating.  We literally only went into the stores that Nathan goes to and none of us bought anything… 😛   We talked, walked, and stalled for time as Raluca was contemplating on whether or not she wanted to go to a volleyball drop in or not…

5:00 pm 5:30 pm – Walked and talked some more.  As you can tell, we are very productive shoppers… hah.  We find my mom and find a table to sit at for the last 5 minutes we would be together today.  Since I knew that I wanted to blog everything about today once I got home, I made them take a photo with me. 🙂

baes

6:00 pmonwards… Went home, took a shower, and blogging… I guess I wouldn’t mind to spend the rest of my day just relaxin’  🙂


So I didn’t have a big celebration or party or receive lots of presents today… But the best gift I could ever ask for is time spent with people who mean something to me. Thanks you two, for filling my life with so much craziness and love and sheer joy – whether we’re talking at 2 am on our group chat about how *scary* dental appointments could be, sharing things we normally wouldn’t let others know about, or walking endless laps around both floors of the mall… I’ll never regret spending time with you.  You guys did make today special by just being in it.  I hope you enjoyed your time with me too.


A daily devotional book I got for my birthday about four years ago now says this on July 14:

“So teach us to count our days that we may gain a wise heart.” – Psalm 90:12

Father, 

    I know I’ll be with you forever in heaven, but I want my time on Earth to count for something.  So many people I know seem to be just getting by or chasing fun and good times.  I don’t want to do that.  I want to spend my life completely for you.  I want every day I live to count.  I want you to use me whenever you can. 

   Please, Father, give me the wisdom to know how to spend all my time and energy.  Give me the courage not to keep any of it from you, but to let you have it all.  Help me to catch on quickly when I’m spending my time on something worthless so I can stop and move on to something better.  Help me to seize every day for you.

No one ever regrets using time wisely.  No one ever wishes he or she wouldn’t have lived a day for God.

     What wise words.  No matter how old I get, I never will be able to fully understand the concept of time.  It’s funny how there are moments in which we wish it stop yet we also experience moments in which we couldn’t wait for it to move faster.  I guess it all depends on your perspective on how you want to spend your existence.

    This devotional basically sums it all up.  I want to live for Jesus.  I want to serve him any way I can up until my very last breath.  So as I turn 15 today, I want to experience and encounter Jesus in amazing ways.  I know that as I continue to seek him more, I’ll find him.  My life’s in his hands, I’m his.


     Just wanted to say a HUGE THANK YOU to everyone who greeted me today.  I truly appreciate all your kind words and little notes of love today.

     Your messages warmed my heart.  Thank you all for such a special 15th!! 🙂

Standard

3 thoughts on “CHAPTER FIFTEEN.

  1. Bianca says:

    Hey, Ains! I wanna wish you a Happy, Happy, Birthday!!! May you continue to be a light to the whole world. You are an amazing person…promise. Just remember that God loves you, and so do I. *blushes* Happy 15th!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

