PERSONAL.

“THE WARRIOR IS A CHILD.”

About a month ago, when my family was driving to our family get together in Washington, my dad found some of his old CD’s that were sitting in one of our car’s compartments for who knows how long…  It was about 10 o’clock at night and I was ready to unload the bags in my car anytime and officially call it a night in my beach side cabin after a long 6 hours of travel.

In my fatigue and weariness, I was awakened and enlightened by some of the beautiful lyrics of one of the songs by the singer my dad’s long forgotten CD was relaying to me on the radio.  The artist, Gary Valenciano, is a Christian, Filipino musician that my dad has been a fan of for over the past 20 years.  I’ve always admired his talent as a vocalist growing up but never realized the depth and impact of his lyrics that made my dad still hold on to his CD’s up until now.

The song that caught my attention is called, “Warrior Is A Child.”  I’ll insert a link down below to the song right here, if any of you are interested in hearing it. 🙂

 

I’m definitely not someone who listens to melancholy and tranquil ballads like this… (Okay, I’m not entirely sure if this is a ballad or not, I’m just assuming due to my lack of musical knowledge…)  but there was something about this song that lured me into understanding the deeper meaning behind it.

Here’s the first two verses and the chorus:

Lately I’ve been winning battles left and right
But even winners can get wounded in the fight
People say that I’m amazing
I’m strong beyond my years
But they don’t see inside of me
I’m hiding all these tears

They don’t know that I come running home when I fall down
They don’t know who picks me up when no one is around
I drop my sword and cry for just a while
‘Coz deep inside this armor
The warrior is a child

Unafraid because His armor is the best
But even soldiers need a quiet place to rest
People say that I’m amazing
I never face retreat
But they don’t see the enemies
That lay me at His feet

   …

     We all have battles.  We all have wars that rage within us that we don’t let anyone else see.  We like to show the world that everything’s alright even when it’s not.  No one likes feeling weak or helpless when they’re sad or hurt.  But even as stoic and unharmed we seem as we emerge from our fight, there comes a time for everyone that all seems dark, lonely, and helpless.

As a Christian, I know that no matter how hard I try to hide my struggles, fears, and disputes from everyone around me, I know that I can’t escape God from knowing how much pain these tribulations cause me.  Through his strength, I can hold his hand to help myself get back up on my feet.  It’s those times when I’m a successful conqueror that others think that I know how to handle my emotions and the setbacks that come at me.

I guess that God sure does make me look a lot stronger than I seem.  To prove that, I want to insert the chorus in this entry one more time…

They don’t know that I come running home when I fall down
They don’t know who picks me up when no one is around
I drop my sword and cry for just a while
‘Coz deep inside this armor
The warrior is a child

When my world gives way, this song reminded me that God is my rock when the wind and waves blow.  When I’m a thread about to fray, he always finds some way of reminding me that I need him as my Father to carry me through the tough times in my life, when I know that I’m his weak child wanting to stand strong in the storms but don’t know how.

It’s in the moments that I trust him to navigate me through the situations I can’t surpass on my own that I see his love evidently holding me.  In his hands, I know that the battles I face will be won even when I drop my sword.  I just know that I’m safe when I run into his arms.

So for any of you facing tough times, know that God’s always got your back.  As one of my favourite verses, Exodus 14:14, says this: “The Lord will fight for you, you only need to be still.”  Remember that no matter how independent or self-reliant you think you are, that even when it’s a fight to keep your faith, you’re never alone.  🙂

Standard

4 thoughts on ““THE WARRIOR IS A CHILD.”

  1. Bianca says:

    Wow! How coincidental! I was just listening to that song a few days ago. It is a very inspirational and uplifting song indeed. And not to mention, Gary V. is an amazing singer. I love how you’re so open and eager to share about your faith. Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

